top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePrajakta Shetye

परिपूर्णं तदस्तु मे / May my offering be complete



Last year on my birthday, I wished to gift myself something long-lasting… something that will help me grow, become more consistent and at the same time impact at least a few others. And that’s how this initiative was born – with a resolution to write one blog every Sunday for 52 weeks till my next birthday!


Today as we complete 52 weeks of Sunday blogs on our culture, traditions and forgotten roots, I am filled with mixed emotions. The end of any journey is always a little sorrowful, but on the other hand you are content too with the experiences you acquired and the memories you created.


You also become aware of the scope for improvement – the mistakes made, what has been missed, what could have been done better!

Whether giving an exam, doing a pooja, completing a project at work, writing a book, or even at the end of your or a near one’s life, you get this feeling – “Did I do well?”


At such a point, just close your eyes and say with all your heart –


आवाहनं न जानामि न जानामि विसर्जनम्। पूजां चैव न जानामि क्षम्यतां परमेश्वर ।। मन्त्रहीनं क्रियाहीनं भक्तिहीनं सुरेश्वर । यत्पूजितं मया देव परिपूर्णं तदस्तु मे ।। अपराधसहस्राणि क्रियन्तेऽहर्निशं मया । दासोऽयमिति मां मत्वा क्षमस्व परमेश्वर ।।
kshamasva


This क्षमा याचना प्रार्थना / Kshama Yachana Prarthana is said at the end of a Pooja or Yadnya or any ritual addressed to the Deity being worshipped. As we see परमेश्वर / Parameshwar / God in everything and everyone, we can say this at the end of any project/task or even addressed to some person.


Thus, today, I say,


I don’t know how to invoke you or how to bid you farewell.

I don’t even know how to worship you, forgive me, O Lord!

O Lord, without proper mantras, actions or devotion,

whatever was worshipped (done) by me, O Lord, may it be complete.

A thousand sins (errors) are done by me day and night.

Considering me to be your servant, forgive me, O Lord.

 

It was my aim to bring the mantras, suktis, subhashitaani and shlokas from the Vedas, Puranas and वाङ्गमय/Literature in front of a larger audience. My desire was that many more get benefited from this treasure trove by living in harmony, humility and inclusiveness like our ancestors. All the प्राजक्ताची फुले are my offerings towards these objectives.


Whatever is error-free and the good that I have been able to achieve is attributable to the श्रेय / Shreya / credit of my gurus, the virtues of my forefathers and the encouragement from you all.

Whatever are the errors and faults committed, are entirely mine – but I hope that you all will ignore them with large hearts and consider these as परिपूर्ण/ whole and complete.

 

As is suggested in our scriptures, let us end with a शान्ति मंत्र / Shanti mantra. This Shanti mantra is from the Yajurveda :


ॐ भद्रं कर्णेभिः शृणुयाम देवाः । भद्रं पश्येमाक्षभिर्यजत्राः । स्थिरैरङ्गैस्तुष्टुवागँसस्तनूभिः । व्यशेम देवहितं यदायूः । स्वस्ति न इन्द्रो वृद्धश्रवाः । स्वस्ति नः पूषा विश्ववेदाः । स्वस्ति नस्ताक्षर्यो अरिष्टनेमिः । स्वस्ति नो बृहस्पतिर्दधातु ॥ ॐ शान्तिः शान्तिः शान्तिः ॥
bhadram karnebhih

Om! May we hear auspicious things through our ears.

May we see auspicious things through our eyes.

With steady limbs and a humble body,

may we spend the lifespan allotted by the Gods.

May Indra, whose Glory is great, bestow grace on us!

May Pusha (Lord of the Earth), who is All-Knowing, bestow grace on us!

May Tarkashaya, who is a Destroyer of all Enemies, bestow grace on us!

May Brihaspati bestow grace on us!

Om! May there be Peace every where!

 

 ॥ हरी ॐ तत् सत्  ॥

64 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page